Last week I found it convenient to set up a little widget so I could share a topical song relating to Daily Dish‘s praying mantis post. That song is called, appropriately enough, “Praying Mantis,” by Don Dixon. (Whoa! I just searched out his website to make the link, and he looks a lot different than he did in the photo on the back of the 1985 album where the song debuted. I guess 23 years can do that to someone.)

Anyway, since I made the effort to set up the little widget* (okay not very strenuous, but I did it), it occurred to me that it’s an excellent way for me to share some interesting or perhaps strangely relevant music. The widget is at the very bottom of the sidebar.

THAT’S RIGHT,  P A N N A C E A E A E  IS GOING MULTIMEDIA!


I’m planning on posting a new song each week, leaving it available for 1½ to 2 weeks. The latest is by a young Cape Verdean singer named Mayra Andrade (no, not the race car driver Mario Andretti). I heard her perform late one night some months ago on a BBC radio broadcast, and just had to get the album. I hadn’t been seized by such a musical desire in a long time. “Lapidu na bo” (“Stuck on You”) is the second song on her so-far only recording and it’s truly lovely. Portuguese is such a beautiful language. If you do take the time to listen, I hope you enjoy it.


nb: Audio tracks will remain available for approximately 2 weeks after date of post; if you are interested in hearing something you have missed, please make a request in the comments. (*The widget proved disruptive to some readers’ browsers; it has been replaced with direct links to the files.)