The Pessimists Mug® Despair, Inc.

The Pessimist's Mug® Despair, Inc.

Just about everyone has seen an oh-so-witty novelty mug or glass of this design, or some variation thereof. Yes, they’re cute, but in truth, when confronted with the concept of ‘the glass being half-full,’ I always imagine it to be either the left or the right side. Bartenders don’t appreciate this.

Even though I can’t shake the thought from my consciousness, as in so many other things (see my early post, Welcome to the Panniverse™ ) I’ve learned to cope with my irregular thought processes and more or less successfully blend into society. After a while I learned to see the ridiculousness of the Left-Right interpretation: one can simply rotate the glass so the left becomes right and vice-versa (or front and back). It’s that whole you-can’t-have-good-without-evil-they’re-both-sides-of-the-same-coin idea. Or maybe it’s a double-edged sword. I think I’m having a crisis of analogy.

Oh I don’t know, it’s all so hopeless! (No it isn’t!)

