No, I’m not quite ready to descend into the lushy undergrowth. That’s just the first line of the song I’m presenting today.

I’m a little preoccupied lately, but I thought I’d post the newest incarnation of the “Multimedia” series by way of oblique explanation. Also on my list of things to get around to this evening is responding to Hayden Tompkins’ meme-tag. She is so good to me.

“Cardboard Boxes”
Loudon Wainwright III
(from the 1984 album I’m Alright)


Folk-rock singer/songwriter hero Loudon Wainwright III is still probably best known for two things he did in the early 1970’s: appearing in a few episodes of M*A*S*H as the guitar-playing Captain Calvin Spalding, and for the novelty song “Dead Skunk.” Wait, I take that back. He’s now most famous for being the father of Rufus and Martha Wainwright (singer Kate McGarrigle is their mother).

p.s. attn: Haydey-scone: although he grew up in New York’s Westchester County, LWIII was born in Chapel Hill, NC.
