I generally don’t get involved with politics, but it seems as if the entire world is currently saturated with news and updates of the endless U.S. Presidential campaign / election / potential annunciation. Somehow it combined and evolved within my head into a bizarre hybrid political rhetoric earworm, which I fear I can only expunge through a blog posting:

Pieces of Eight Two Thousand and Eight

Pieces of Eight Two Thousand and Eight

RENEGADE
Oh Mama, I’m in fear for my life from the long arm of the law
Law man has put an end to my running and I’m so far from my home

The jig is up, the news is out
They finally found me
The renegade who had it made
Retrieved for a bounty
Never more to go astray
This’ll be the end today
Of the wanted man

Oh Mama, I’ve been years on the lam and had a high price on my head
Law man said ‘Get him dead or alive’ and it’s for sure he’ll see me dead
Dear Mama I can hear you cryin’, you’re so scared and all alone
Hangman is comin’ down from the gallows and I don’t have very long

The jig is up, the news is out
They finally found me
The renegade who had it made
Retrieved for a bounty
Never more to go astray
The judge’ll have revenge today
On the wanted man

Oh Mama, I’m in fear for my life from the long arm of the law
Law man has put an end to my running and I’m so far from my home

The jig is up, the news is out
They finally found me
The renegade who had it made
Retrieved for a bounty
Never more to go astray
This’ll be the end today
Of the wanted man

music & lyrics ©1978 [Styx / Tommy Shaw]
CANDIDATES
Obama, I’m in tears from the strife of the long Iraqi War
Wall Street is on the edge of the gutter and so many lost their homes

Debates are on, the polls are out
We’ll finally vote soon
The candidates all play the game
Deceiving our nation
“Terror War” and Abu Ghraib
At the very end of day
There’s Guantanamo

Obama, you’ve been years on the Trail and McCain seems halfway dead
Palin’s head it’s all bangs and beehive and then her lipstick’s so very red
Obama, I can hear Joe Biden blow so hard and piss and moan
So now I’m walkin’ out past the shallows and the current’s very strong

The mud is slung, the ads are out
They whinily pound me
These candidates who ply their trade
Perceived to be doughty
Media spin in full array
The fudge’ll hit the fan today
Oh the vaunted scams

Obama, I’m sincere in my plight on the wrong end of the shore
Old man has picked a wingnut to run with and she’s so far from the norm

The jig is up, the news is out
It’s driving me crazy
The candidates can’t make the grade
How can you doubt me?
No one has the guts to say
The biggest joke has been played
On us Americans

parody lyrics ©2008 Panniverse Conceit, LTD
