For lack of anything better to do (take a “cute” picture of Ernestine, work on that big old mega-post, write something that involves thinking, do some w*rk), I thought I’d share a passion of mine.

Coffee, java, joe, mud, jamoke, murk, kona, caffe, et al. Love it. Doesn’t give me a physiological boost, but I like the flavor of good coffee, the comfort of a hot cup, even >gasp!< sitting around and klatching with others.

"How Many Lumps?"


Step 1

Step 1

Step 2

Step 2

Step 3

Step 3

Step 4

Step 4

But, if I had my druthers (not to mention some extra cash), I would love to own the Royal Vacuum Coffeemaker (in classic palladium, please). As much objet as tool, it’d be stunning to haul this magnificent baby out after a nice dinner with friends and let it put on a show as we anticipate our steaming cups of brew. Actually, it’s so spectacular, it should probably rise out of the floor on a hydraulic pedestal, spotlit.

Imagine my distress when I made one of my infrequent virtual visits the retailer who stocks the Royal (as well as the slightly more modest less ostentatious Cafetino) to find out that they were discontinued as of June 2008! Even though I’ll never actually own one, it was comforting to know that they were out there and available. Just like when someone somewhere wins the mega lottery, even when I’m not “in it” and thus potentially able to “win it.” A few moments of desperate websearching later, I was relieved to learn that are still being made and that it was simply the one vendor (“vender” for you sticklers) which ceased stocking them.


